Courtesy of Point Park University

Nailers to hold training camp at Southpointe


To continue reading, log into your account:

[theme-my-login show_title=0]

The Wheeling Nailers will be holding their training camp at Printscape Arena at Southpointe.

Training camp practices are free and open to the public. The team's training camp schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, Oct. 1, 9:45 AM: Practice
Wednesday, Oct. 2, 9:45 AM: Practice
Thursday, Oct. 3, 11:00 AM: Practice
Friday, Oct. 4, 8:05 PM: Preseason game at Fort Wayne
Saturday, Oct. 5, 7:35 PM: Preseason game at Fort Wayne

The Nailers' home arena, WesBanco Arena, isn't hosting training camp or either of the preseason games because of an issue with the ice-making system. The 28-year-old system has stopped working, and a new system would reportedly require "tearing up the floor, 12 to 15 weeks of construction, and one and a half to two million dollars."

"It’s not good, but listen," said WesBanco Arena executive director Denny Magruder. "No one’s been killed, no accidents here. Yeah, there’s a lot worse things that could occur than this."

The Nailers are looking to rent a temporary ice pad, like those used in outdoor games, for the duration of the season. The home opener is on Oct. 19.

The team's initial training camp roster features two of last season's top three scorers -- Yushiroh Hirano and Renars Krastenbergs -- and eight players under either an NHL or AHL contract.


Christopher Brown (AHL contract)
Alec Butcher (ECHL contract)
Brad Drobot (ECHL contract)
Jan Drozg (NHL contract)
Brandon Hawkins (AHL contract)
Yushiroh Hirano (AHL contract)
Lucas Kohls (ECHL contract)
Renars Krastenbergs (AHL contract)
Anton Lindstrom (tryout contract)
Tommy Munichiello (tryout contract)
Myles Powell (AHL contract)
Nick Saracino (ECHL contract)
Willy Smith (tryout contract)


Aaron Titcomb (ECHL contract)
Lane Valimont (tryout contract)
Blake Siebenaler (AHL contract)
Craig Skudalski (ECHL contract)
Macoy Erkamps (AHL contract)
Jack Macnee (tryout contract)


Jordan Ruby (ECHL contract)
Rob McGovern (tryout contract)
Andrew D'Agostini (tryout contract)
Kevin Entmaa (tryout contract)

To continue reading, log into your account: