Courtesy of Point Park University

Wilkes-Barre names Warsofsky captain


To continue reading, log into your account:

[theme-my-login show_title=0]
David Warsofsky. -- MATT SUNDAY / DKPS

The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins have named defenseman David Warsofsky the 18th captain in team history, Mike Vellucci announced on Thursday.

Forward Andrew Agozzino and defenseman Kevin Czuczman have been named alternate captains.

“In the exhibition games, when things weren’t going great, [Warsofsky] stood up on the bench, and he was positive,” said Vellucci. “What I liked about him is that he was positive. He was positive to the younger guys, he was mentoring to them. He stood up and showed leadership.”

Warsofsky, 29, is in his third stint in the Penguins organization. He first signed with the Penguins in 2015 and played 12 games with Pittsburgh and 17 games with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton before being claimed off waivers by the Devils. Warsofsky re-signed with the Penguins the following summer and played seven games in Pittsburgh and 58 with Wilkes-Barre, scoring 16 goals and 31 assists to finish No. 2 on the AHL team in scoring.

Warsofsky spent the last two seasons in the Avalanche organization, and was an alternate captain for the AHL's Colorado Eagles last season.

Warsofsky succeeds forward Garrett Wilson, who wore the 'C' during the 18 games he was in the AHL last season. When he was recalled to Pittsburgh, Wilkes-Barre did not name a replacement.


  • John SlaneyStephen Leach & Tyler Wright, 1999–2000
  • Sven Butenschon & John Slaney, 2000–2001
  • Jason MacDonald, 2001–2002
  • Tom Kostopoulos, 2002–2003
  • Patrick BoileauKris Beech & Tom Kostopoulos, 2003–2004
  • Rob Scuderi, 2004–2005
  • Alain Nasreddine, 2004–2006
  • Micki DuPont, 2006–2007
  • Nathan Smith, 2007–2008
  • David Gove, 2008–2009
  • Wyatt Smith, 2009–2010
  • Ryan Craig, 2010–2012
  • Joey Mormina, 2012–2013
  • Tom Kostopoulos, 2013–2018
  • Garrett Wilson, 2018-19
  • David Warsofsky, 2019-

To continue reading, log into your account: