Pouncey, Brown make NFL’s All-Decade team


To continue reading, log into your account:

[theme-my-login show_title=0]
Steelers center Maurkice Pouncey (53) -- MATT SUNDAY / DKPS

Last month, I showed you all my ballot for the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 2010s. Monday, the results of the vote were released by the NFL.

The Steelers were represented by two players, center Maurkice Pouncey and wide receiver Antonio Brown.

A total of 53 players were selected by the Hall of Fame's selection committee. To be eligible, a player had to have had been selected to the Associated Press All-Pro team, Pro Football Writers of America all-conference team or the Pro Bowl at least one time at some point during the decade.

Pouncey, a first-round pick of the Steelers in 2010, was selected to the Pro Bowl in his first three seasons, the first center in NFL history to achieve that honor. He has been selected to the Pro Bowl eight times and named All-Pro on five occasions.

Brown, a sixth-round draft pick in 2010, was traded to the Raiders after the 2018 season. He finished his Steelers career second in team history in receptions (837), receiving yards (11,207) and touchdowns (74), behind only Hines Ward in each. Brown was selected to the Pro Bowl seven times and was a five-time All-Pro selection in the decade. Brown twice led the NFL in both receptions and receiving yards.

Missing out on making the list was former Steelers running back Le'Veon Bell. Running backs Frank Gore, Marshawn Lynch, LeSean McCoy and Adrian Peterson were selected ahead of Bell. Peterson was a unanimous selection.

Also not making the cut despite being on the ballot was guard David DeCastro. Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins, Zack Martin and Marshal Yanda were selected by voters, with Yanda earning a vote on all ballots.

Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger was eligible but didn't make the cut. Tom Brady, a unanimous pick, and Aaron Rodgers were the choices there.

Defensive lineman Cam Heyward and safety Troy Polamalu also failed to garner enough votes, as did punt returner Diontae Johnson.

The complete list of players on the All-Decade team is as follows:

QB-Tom Brady, Aaron Rodgers

RB-Frank Gore, Marshawn Lynch, LeSean McCoy, Adrian Peterson

WR-Antonio Brown, Larry Fitzgerald, Calvin Johnson, Julio Jones

Flex-Darren Sproles

TE-Rob Gronkowski, Travis Kelce

OT-Jason Peters, Tyron Smith, Joe Staley, Joe Thomas

G-Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins, Zack Martin, Marshal Yanda

C-Alex Mack, Maurkice Pouncey

DE-Calais Campbell, Cameron Jordan, Julius Peppers, J.J. Watt

DT-Geno Atkins, Fletcher Cox, Ndamukong Suh, Aaron Donald

LB-Chandler Jones, Luke Kuechly, Khlalil Mack, Von Miller, Bobby Wagner, Patrick Willis

CB-Patrick Peterson, Darrelle Revis, Richard Sherman

S-Eric Berry, Earl Thomas, Eric Weddle

DB-Chris Harris, Jr.

P-Johnny Hekker, Shane Lechler

PK-Stephen Gostkowski, Justin Tucker

PR-Tyreek Hill, Darren Sproles

KR-Devin Hester, Cordarrelle Patterson

Head Coach: Bill Belichick, Pete Carroll

To continue reading, log into your account: